Dear University

16th June 2014

Dear University,

I’m not sure how to begin to describe the amazing experience I’ve had with you, or even if I have the words to do justice to it at all. Just know that these last few years have been incredible and have made me the person I am today.

I’m unbelievably happy you’ve given me the chance to meet some of the best people who will be friends for life and grateful for the opportunities I’ve had to do and experience even more than I could’ve ever imagined. I’m excited for the next adventure, but I’m also incredibly sad our time together is all over and there’s going to be a university shaped hole in my heart for a while.

On the 17th of September 2011, I arrived in Canterbury an anxious teenager told that university will be the best years of my life, completely unaware of just how fantastic the journey I was about to start was going to be. I suppose clichés are clichés for a reason.

On the 28th of May 2014, I finished my final exam of third year and with that finished my degree. No longer the anxious teenager, I’m a 21 year old (grown up?!) who’s had three wonderful years, where so much has happened and so many memories have been made and I’m ready to take on the world.

At times during those three years it was challenging and stressful (e.g. Moby Dick…that bloody whale) and I didn’t think we’d ever be First Year happy together again, but we made it through and in Third Year, University my friend, you made my life just fab.

My last two weeks were spent laughing, crying, reminiscing, celebrating, drinking and eating with the people I love, enjoying those final few moments as much as possible. A perfect end to the journey.

University, you gave me three of the best years of my life and I would not change a single moment.

I left you in tears but this is not goodbye forever. I’ll be back.

Yours sincerely,

Laura Hunter


photo-45

Summer Ball, 7th June 2014

Leave a Reply

